RSS

Bumpass Creek Free Will Baptist Church

09 Sep

Once upon a time—in the early 1800s—John Scott (1800–1894) moved from his birthplace in Buncombe County, North Carolina to newly available territory in Lauderdale County, Alabama.

He established his home in northwest corner of the state, just a few miles from Tennessee. His land was along Bumpass Creek, which fed into the Tennessee River at Waterloo, just a few miles south.

A church was built on a piece of his land and then he donated that land to the church.

IMG_7294

My mom painted this picture of the church from a photo taken during a trip to the area in 1990.

Our knowledge of the church history is a bit vague. I know the big picture, but not the details. I’d like to know more so we can label this accurately.

What is the name of the church? I found Bumpass Creek Free Will Baptist Church when I googled Baptist Churches in Lauderdale County. It’s in the right spot on the map, but that may not be how it’s known locally.

Does anyone know when it was established, and what are the chances any part of this building is original? If it’s not original when was this building built? Was the first preacher a Scott?

I’m counting on my Scott cousins to help fill in the blanks.

Jan

John Scott > Jeremiah Franklin (Frank) Scott > William Charlie (Charlie) Scott > Avery Albert Scott > Lela Mae Scott Rose > Darlene Rose Miller > Jan Miller Stratton

 

 

 
11 Comments

Posted by on September 9, 2013 in Scott

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Bumpass Creek Free Will Baptist Church

  1. daphne64

    November 25, 2014 at 12:40 pm

    My Mother’s side of the family was a Scott. She was raised on Bumpus Creek. When she married my Father they settled in Walnut Grove. A small community in Tennessee just a few miles from Bumpus Creek. I am so glad I found this blog….. I found it on facebook through Waterloo and Wright face book page. I would love to learn more about both sides of my family. Do you have any posts or blogs with suggestions on how to do so?

     
  2. Sonia Briggs

    May 12, 2015 at 10:46 am

    Bumpus Creek was my grandmother’s, Valleree Joiner Scott, home church. She and my grandpa, Marion Stanley Scott also lived in Walnut Grove. I just blogged about her and church. I was trying to find a photo of the church and came to this painting. Please….may I use it?!?

     
    • Jan

      May 13, 2015 at 1:25 pm

      Yes you can use it if you’ll link back to the source, and credit my mom, Darlene Miller, as the artist. I’ll also check out your blog, and my family tree for your Grandpa. Do you know how you are related to John Scott who donated the land for the church? Seems like we must be cousins.
      Jan

       
      • Sonia

        May 13, 2015 at 1:55 pm

        Done! Thank you!
        I don’t know John Scott’s relationship but very likely cousins. 🙂

         
  3. Scotty Scott

    February 14, 2016 at 11:59 pm

    My dad’s family grew up on Bumpus Creek near Waterloo Alabama. My father is Boyce Scott the son of Holmer Scott. I lit up when I saw your article. I remember seeing Poindexter’s and John’s names when my wife I were looking into my family tree. The Scott cemetery is not far from the baptist church you mentioned. My dad attended there growing up.

     
  4. Scotty Scott

    February 15, 2016 at 11:34 am

    Poindexter was my great grandfather.

     
    • Jan

      February 17, 2016 at 8:16 am

      Hi Scotty, since Jeremiah Franklin was my 2x great grandfather we’re 3rd cousins? Or 2nd cousins once removed? Frank was Poindexter’s older brother, the one next in line before him. There is a facebook page of Waterloo Scott cousins. It’s Descendants of Waterloo, Alabama Scott Family. It’s a closed group, we had some spammers try to join… but just click to join and we’ll get you approved. Thanks for reading.
      Jan

       
      • Katherine Hinton

        February 18, 2016 at 8:46 pm

        The Bumpus Church is still in the same place. It looks like the painting too. My Mother in law has gone to that all of her life. She has Scotts in her family. It would be interesting to see if we are all kin.

         

Leave a Reply

 
