RSS

Christmas 1962

28 Dec

When I was a kid we’d first see what Santa brought us and then we were off to my great grandmother’s for Christmas dinner with the extended family. We called her Mommy, but her name was Caldona Della Kathryn Crouch Scott. She had five kids and here she is with her daughters, daughters-in-law, my mom and me.

Four Generations of Scotts

Four Generations of Scotts

From left, Mommy, my great-grandmother Caldona Della Kathryn Crouch Scott; my mom, Darlene Rose Miller; Aunt Dorothy, Dorothy Clark Scott, Uncle Mac’s wife; me, Jan Miller Stratton; Aunt Syble, Syble Scott Sherrman; Aunt Dessie, Dessie Blackburn Scott, Uncle Luke’s wife; Aunt Bill, Dorine Scott Taylor; and my Grandma, Lela Scott Rose.

We’re more likely to have a bright Christmas instead of a white Christmas here in Oklahoma.

The photo was stamped “1963” so it would have been taken Christmas Day 1962. I was in fifth grade. I remember that dress. It was a sleeveless shirtwaist dress with a gathered skirt. I liked that little jacket (maybe it’s called a weskit?) with the big button closure set off to the side. I don’t remember if the collar was attached to the jacket or the dress, but I remember it was green to match the big green buttons. The sleeves came down to the elbows.

I think my Grandma Hamilton made the dress for me. Kathryn McKay Miller Hamilton, my dad’s mom, lived in Key West, Florida. Every summer we didn’t go to Florida for vacation mom would take my measurements and we would go to the fabric store and pick out a few patterns we liked and send the numbers to Grandma. When we went to Florida, Grandma did the measuring, but either way, about the time school started I would get a box in the mail crammed full of school clothes and a cozy flannel nightgown. Getting that box in the mail was almost as fun as Christmas.

Hope you have some happy Christmas memories from years gone by.

Jan

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 28, 2014 in Scott

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
